Intercollegiate Athletics

Website: http://utahtechtrailblazers.com

Athletic Administration

Mo Eckroth Sr. Assoc. AD: Compliance & Senior Women’s Administrator mo.eckroth@utahtech.edu (435) 652-7569
Ken Beazer Athletic Director ken.beazer@utahtech.edu (435) 652-7526
Travis Ficklin Faculty Athletic Representative travis.ficklin@utahtech.edu (435) 879-4339
Mike Olson Assoc. AD: Academics & Student-Athlete Welfare mike.olson@utahtech.edu (435) 879-4558
Steve Johnson Assoc. AD: Media Relations steve.johnsons@utahtech.edu (435) 652-7524
Daniel Wines Asst. Director of Athletic Events, Game Operations and Facilities daniel.wines@utahtech.edu (435) 652-7528
Corie Sue Holmes Sports Information Coordinator corie.holmes@utahtech.edu (435) 879-4288
Robby Rosenthal Compliance Coordinator robby.rosenthal@utahtech.edu (435) 879-4818

Women's Sports Men's Sports
Basketball Baseball
Cross Country Basketball
Golf Cross Country
Soccer Football
Softball Golf
Tennis Soccer
Volleyball
Track (Indoor/Outdoor)
Swimming

Sport Head Coach Email Phone
Football Paul Peterson paul.peterson4@utahtech.edu 435-652-7746
Women’s Basketball JD Gustin jd.gustin@utahtech.edu 435-652-7920
Men’s Basketball Jon Judkins jon.judkins@utahtech.edu 435-652-7781
Baseball Chris Pfatenhauer chris.pfatenhauer@utahtech.edu 435-652-7530
Softball Randy Simkins randy.rsimkins@utahtech.edu 435-652-7543
Women’s Soccer Molly Rouse molly.rouse@utahtech.edu 435-652-7531
Men’s Soccer Jonny Broadhead jonathan.broadhead@utahtech.edu 435-652-7787
Women’s Volleyball Camilla Hafoka camilla.hafoka@utahtech.edu 435-652-7783
Men’s Golf Brad Sutterfield sutterfield@utahtech.edu 435-669-2826
Women’s Tennis Eric Pelton eric.pelton@utahtech.edu 435-773-2002
Women’s Cross Country & Track and Men's Cross Country Derrick Atkins derrick.atkins@utahtech.edu
Men's Cross Country Justin Decker justin.decker@utahtech.edu 435-272-6562
Women’s Golf Lindsey Stucki lindsey.stucki@utahtech.edu 435-216-2947
Women's Swimming Dan Kessler dan.kessler@utahtech.edu 435-879-4558
Cheerleaders Kristi Shaw kristi.shaw@utahtech.edu 435-757-1155
Blaze Dance Team Kori Esplin kori.esplin@utahtech.net 435-619-7552

The Athletic Department at Utah Tech is a member of the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) at the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).  Utah Tech competed at the NCAA Division II level from 2006-2007 to 2019-2020 after several decades as a National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) national power. Utah Tech currently sponsors 16 intercollegiate athletic programs, including six men’s sports (baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, and soccer) and ten women’s sports (basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis, indoor & outdoor track and field, and volleyball).

We strive to help student-athletes define, shape, and achieve educational and life goals, contributing to the University’s personalized and excellent teaching in a learning environment where all student-athletes can become passionate about their individual educational and athletic endeavors. Athletic teams and programs are designed to fuel students’ desire to succeed on their various fields and courts of play, excel in the classroom while progressing toward achieving academic success, all while becoming and serving as outstanding and exemplary members of the community. In essence, we strive to build champions in the classroom, in athletic competition, in the community, and in life.


Facilities

  • Burns Arena (Basketball & Volleyball) seats 4,779 people and was built in 1986. 
  • Greater Zion Stadium (Football & Soccer) seats nearly 10,000 people and was built in 1983. 
  • Bruce Hurst Field (Baseball) seats nearly 2,200 people was built in 1995.
  • The Student Activity Center seats nearly 1,000 people and was built in 1956. It was home to the basketball team until 1985. The SAC currently serves as a practice facility for the volleyball and basketball teams.
  • Karl Brooks Field (Softball) seats 250 people and was built in 1992 in a joint venture with St. George City. In 2007 a state-of-the-art clubhouse was built with in-kind donations from many people within the community.